The joint Governing Body of Dixons Kings and Dixons City Academy's includes:

Professor Grace Alderson
Mr John Bowers (Chair)
Mr Zamir Chaudhry
Ms Sarah Clynes (Kings Teaching Staff)
Mr Martin Gaskin
Ms Susan Gee
Mr Tim Gilpin (Vice Chair)
Mr Imran Khan
Ms Susan May (CIty Support Staff)
Mr Neil Miley (Kings Principal)
Mrs Hena Shah (City Teaching Staff)
Ms Shirley Watson (City Principal)
Sir Nick Weller (CEO & Executive Principal)

Academies are set up as companies limited by guarantee with charitable status. Each Academy is under the control of its governing body, which has a clearly defined strategic role in shaping its success.

Dixons Kings and City Academy's governing body includes parent representatives, local community representatives, the principal and staff in an ex-officio capacity. All members of our governing body are appointed on the basis of the contribution that they will make to the school and have a legal duty to act only in the interest of the Academy.

The governing body of an Academy is accountable to the Secretary of State through the requirements of a Funding Agreement. The Funding Agreement requires the governing body to publish procedures of its meetings. As charitable companies, Academies must also prepare and file annual accounts with the Charity Commission, prepare an annual report for the Charity Commissioners, and ensure that their accounts are independently audited.

As an independent school, Dixons is set up as charitable company to give governors broader scope and responsibility for ethos, strategic direction and challenge.

Dixons Governors have the following responsibilities:

Employment of Academy staff
The appointment of the Principal
Administration of the Academy's finances
Authorisation of any appointments or changes to terms and conditions
Approval of policies and procedures

Schemes of Delegation
Register of Interests
Trust Register of Interest

Click here to read our Governing Body Meeting Minutes 2016-17

Click on the link to read our Governing Body Meeting Minutes 2015-2016.

If you wish to contact any of our Governors or, if you are interested in becoming a Governor, please contact Mrs Ribli Miah, Clerk to the Governing Body, either by telephone: 01274 449706 or via e mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.">



Attendance Records